Super Easy Jammy Bottoms

image

I had been thinking of buying a pattern from Simplicity for some nice simple pyjama bottoms. Thankfully I held on to my money when I saw lots of tutorials to draft patterns form your own clothes so I thought I would give it a go and I’m glad I did.

image

I used greaseproof paper/baking parchment to trace around my own garment and cut it out making allowances for seams, hems and rolling over the top for the drawstring opening. If you are using a garment with an elasticated waist make sure you take this into account (I didn’t and had to add a triangle of extra fabric to accommodate my booty).

All the tutorials online show how to do the construction but it is pretty easy to figure out once you have cut out the fabric. I placed the straight edge of the pattern on the fold of the fabric so I only had one seam to sew on the inside of each leg.

I used a vintage table cloth for the fabric.  I loved the pattern at the bottom and wanted to use that at the bottom of the legs. Thankfully the table cloth had already been hemmed so I used that to save some time. I am really please with the finished garment. They were so easy to make and really comfy.  I plan to make a few more pairs 🙂

Leave a Reply

