A Productive Week

Success.  I finished the crochet blanket commission at the weekend.  I’m quite pleased with it and the money will be going towards a new pair of boots.

image

I’m so glad this one is done. It nice to get things crossed off the to do list.

I decided to whip up a quick something on Saturday just to entertain myself. I’d been wanting to have a go at a felt brooch for a while having seen some beautiful examples on pinterest.

image

I used fusible paper bonding stuff to help cut out the pieces. Note: always iron glue side down. Can’t tell you how many times I have had to get the nail varnish remover out to get glue off the iron! It can be a little fiddly to remove the paper but it’s worth it for the nice clean edge you get.

I played around with the placing and ironed the pieces in position.  I then added buttons, beads and embroidery.

image

This was a nice quick little project. I enjoy the things that work up quickly. Instant gratification is hard to come by with a lot of craft projects.

I realised at the weekend that my boyfriend’s birthday is one short month away and I hadn’t started knitting his socks. He loves getting knitted socks so I agreed to make him a pair every year. We are on the 5th pair now! I popped down to hobby craft and picked up some lovely Diploma Gold yarn in red, white and black (the colours of the Atlanta Falcons, his favourite NFL team). My plan is to knit the word “flacons” down the front of the sock. This is the first time I have tried something like this on socks and also the first time I will be trying short row shaping on the heel. I got the pattern in Raveley The Short Row Heel Sock it looks nice and simple so fingers crossed he will have some awesome socks quite soon.
Here is my progress so far:
image
Let’s hope they get done by his birthday.

Leave a Reply

